Learning Dutch with Sesame Street (I mean, Sesamstraat)

They say you learn something new every day. Lately for me, it’s been in Dutch. 

My world got a bit larger when I married a tall, cute guy from The Netherlands seven years ago. I never dreamed I would like chocolate sprinkle sandwiches, fries with peanut sauce, or own so many things in the color orange. However, it is all these things that make being married to the Dutchman special.

The first Dutch phrase I ever learned will always, without a doubt, be my favorite: Ik hou van jou (“I love you.”). The Dutchman taught it to me in the car while we were driving to have dinner with his family. It was a moment I will never forget, and it is the most meaningful phrase that exists in any language. I even have “Ik hou van jou” as my inscription on my wedding ring with our wedding date and his name. I also love that it is the only Dutch phrase Matt Lauer knows, too. He’s married to the Dutch model, Annette Roque.

Lately, I’ve decided it’s time to tackle the Dutch language itself. Believe me, it hasn’t been easy. Between the guttural g’s, diphthongs, and rolling r’s, it’s a tough language to learn. 

So in addition to working on my Rosetta Stone software and asking the Dutchman lots of questions, I’ve taken to watching videos on YouTube. I watch everything from news stories to videos about the royal family, talk shows to even Sesame Street. I thought I would share a couple of videos for you to enjoy:

Learn your ABC’s in Dutch with Oscar and Grover:

Learn to count from 1 to 10 with Bert and Bernice the pigeon:

And for good measure, here is a little Super Grover for you!

Dag! (Goodbye!)

Leave a Reply

